Sille Ilves - Perwg CDMuusik Sille Ilves, kes on elanud Suurbritannias, Walesis juba kümme aastat salvestas oma esimese soolo plaadi Perwg- rataslüüra muusika Walesist, veebruaril 2013 Lääne-Walesis, mis tähistab muusiku teekonda kümne aasta jooksul võõral maal.
Sellel helisalvestusel on 36 unikaalset nii kuulamis-, kui ka tantsulist Walesi rahvamuusika meloodiat, mis on Sille poolt kogutud arhiividest või elavatelt muusikutelt kui ka mõni omaloominguline pala, mängitud ja aranzeeritud soolo rataslüürale ning paiguti kaunistatud külalispillidega nagu viiul, bouzouki, üherealine lõõts, kitarr ja hääl.
Helisalvestus Perwg on ainulaadne nii mitmestki küljest: Esmalt tuleks mainida, et Walesis puudub rataslüüra mängimise traditsioon, ainuke mis viitab, et selline pill on eksisteerinud selles piirkonnas on nimi Perwg (mis tähendab kõmri keeles rataslüüra). Samuti puudub Walesis rataslüürale sobilik repertuaar.
Selle kõige lahenduseks tuli Walesimaale elama Eesti tüdruk, kes kogus kümne aasta jooksul täiesti uue repertuaari, uuele pillile ja seda kõike tehes ettevaatlikult; valides matrjali kohalikelt rahvamuusikutelt, kui ka arhiivi riiulitelt vanadest noodiraamatutest ning kohandades need oma maitsele ja pillile. Seega võib nimetada Sille Ilvese plaadi Perwg salvestust, nii uue traditsiooni allikaks, kui ka Walesi pärimusmuusika repertuaari varasalveks.

The album Perwg is an unique recording of traditional Welsh music, arranged for solo hurdy-gurdy complemented by a sprinkling of other instruments and voices. This utterly original recording places the hurdy-gurdy firmly within the traditions of the British Isles and away from the continental repertoire popularly associated with this instrument. Perwg was recorded, mixed and mastered by Jens Schroeder at the Dreamworld Studios, in West-Wales, Pembrokeshire on February 2013.
This CD contains 12 tracks: 36 tunes which have been collected by, given to or composed by the Estonian musician Sille Ilves, who celebrates her 10th year of living in Wales this year.
Guest musicians on the record are: Martin Leamon - bouzouki on tracks 6, 12, 1-row melodeon on tracks 7,11 & guitar on track 7.
Ceri Rhys Matthews - vocals on tracks 7, 12.
On one hand Perwg is a work of great scholarship and fieldwork - skilfully selected melodies from archives and living musicians serve as a repertoire for anyone interested in traditional Welsh music, and hurdy-gurdy players particularly. On the other hand as a personal response of an artist to living in Wales, and as a reflection of Welsh culture it is a striking work of art.
The word Perwg comes from a 15th century poem by Lewis Glyn Cothi, poet and privileged court harpist. In his poem he describes with contempt how other musicians are allowed to entertain the house with their lowly instruments (including the perwg, meaning hurdy-gurdy in Welsh) rather than his courtly harp. This forgotten instrument with a forgotten name has been given a new lease of life and repertoire by Sille Ilves, a foreigner living in Wales. This artist's fresh energy and personal approach to old melodies shines through in each track of this album, resulting in a well balanced collection of British dance tunes, pre-industrial listening pieces and pastoral song melodies.
Sille Ilves' solo record Perwg is a triumph of melody, uncluttered by modish arrangements.
"The hurdy-gurdy is a new tool for Sille's creativity, and a 'new' flavour for the music tradition here in Wales. The tireless energy and exotic rhythms of Perwg' find life and a dance in our tunes, and transports us to a distant land in our own homes." - Idris Jones, BBC Radio CymruRataslüüra muusika Walesist.

Sille Ilves - rataslüüra, viiul, laul / hurdy-gurdy, voice, fiddle
Martin Leamon - bouzouki, üherealine lõõts, kitarr / bouzouki, guitar, 1 row melodeon
Ceri Rhys Matthews - laul / voice

1. South sea. We are all of a bunch
2. Butcher hornpipe
3. Glyntawe. Conset William Ab Owen Pencraig. Hoffed Lewis Hopkin.eakdown. Can Dyffryn Clettwr. Glyntawe.
4. Cywdd iolo margannwg
5. Malldod dolgellau. Abergenny.
6. Iar fach yr haf (Liblika valss)
7. Sunday Morning. Trafelais i Gymru. Cerais ferch. Bad Robin. Princess Amelia's Birthday.
8. Cainc Y Cathreiwr. Ploughman's hornpipe. John Thomas' hornpipe. Bob and John.
9. Cofio Llanedi. Peggy's warning. Blodau Ffestiniog. Blodeu'r Gwinwydd.
10. Almwnd. Y Twmpathau.
11. Captain Morgan's March. Cobler coch o hengoed. Lord Caernarfon's Jig. Wyres Ned Puw.
12. Bredd Y Morwr. Nos Sadwrn Y Gweiwr. Marwnad Yr Heliwr.


Telli SIIT