Sisukord

Estonian Traditional Music Center

XV Viljandi Folk Music Festival, July 26-29, 2007

Kui mina akkan laulemaie,
Pisut sõnu pildumaie,
Laulan ma mere mäeksa,
Mere kivid killingiksa,
Mere põhja põrandaksa.
Küll on laulu, kui ma lasen,
Küll viisi, kui veeretan,
Ega ei kustu kuke haani,
Puudu ei poole päevani.
Ennem lõppegu lõhmussed,
Ennem kadakad kadugu,
Ennem vaherjad vajugu,
Kui minu eali lõpenessa,
Ega minu viisi vähenessa.
(Muhu)

This year’s festival main theme is REGISONG (regilaul).

By its musical and metric characteristic, Estonian song regilaul can be considered a Non-Western folk song (or at least as atypical Western folk song).
Regilaul is an old Estonian folk song style, belonging to the ancient Balto-Finnic runo song (or runic song; Finnish runo ’poem’ < ’singer, seer’) tradition.
Runo song is defined by its poetic structure as a folk song, where the main features are parallelism, alliterative rhymes, specific metre and certain traditional subjects and formulas.
Presumably, runo song tradition emerged 2–2,5 000 years ago and it was carried on by oral tradition up to the 19th century, in some outlying districts up to now.
The traditional way of singing was a continuous process with turns for a leader and the chorus: one person sings a verse, the others join at the last syllables and repeat the verse,
then the leader sings again, etc. (About regilaul: Lippus 1995; Ross, Lehiste 2001; Särg 2005).


Viljandi Festival annual traditions of focusing on different instruments or other phenomena of traditional music are continued this summer through workshops
and exhibitions dealing with singing styles and their history. Most of the best Estonian musicians gather to play, and sing and play together at concerts and spontaneous jam-sessions.
It will be four days and nights where one can enjoy the best traditional music, atmosphere and the happiest bunch of people in the world!

Technical Details About Realvideo Transmissions



Transmissions are performed by Audiovisuaalne Meedia NGO with the help of CarlNet Ltd. and TU Viljandi Culture Academy. This year, too, we are planning to have simultaneous transmissions of several concerts.

In order to see the transmission your computer must have at minimum Realplayer One. It is, however, advisable to install the free-ware version of Realplayer 10. Information on adjusting the program can be found at http://nadal.viljandi.ee/?html=nvtv (in Estonian, with screen-shot instructions).
Contact: Karl Õmblus karl@carlnet.ee

Previous Festivals

Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2006
Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2005
Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2004
Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2003
Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2002

Forum

Forum

Stages and Festival Venues

See also town map.

Attention!

Team

Ando KivibergChiefando@folk.ee+372 52 40 069
Liina HärmAssistant Managerliina@folk.ee+372 51 87 580
Tarmo NoormaaProgram Managernoormaa@folk.ee+372 50 87 759
Ülle JantsonEducational Programylle@folk.ee+372 51 63 133
Liina GrossForeign Affairsgross@folk.ee+372 51 25 592
Kaija-Liisa TarandETNO Campskaija-liisa@folk.ee+372 56 352 152
Hillar SeinTechnical Managerhillar@folk.ee+372 52 10 299
Epp AlataluThe Barn Project (Aita Aita)epp@folk.ee+372 51 21 721
Tiit JürmannSales Managertiit@folk.ee+372 50 63 760
Kristi SaarsaluAccommodation & Cateringkristi@folk.ee+372 56 989 734
Pille KährikTicket Sales Managerpille@folk.ee+372 52 88 256
Pille KirsimäeAccountantamanda@folk.ee+372 51 06 754
Aari JuhansonTranslationsaari@folk.ee+372 56 900 800
Allan KändmaaCodemanallan@folk.ee+372 53 985 666
Tauno UiboWebpage, ITtauno@folk.ee+372 51 11 049
Urmas VolmerPrinted Matter, Photosurmas@folk.ee+372 50 63 362
Erki PriskSecurity Administrationerki@folk.ee+372 51 66 306
Kristel PeikelPress Assistantkristel@folk.ee+372 51 56 329