Sisukord

Festival

XIV Viljandi Folk Music Festival July 20-23, 2006 This year’s festival theme enfolds all accordion-type instruments like diatonic accordions, harmonicas, boxes, concertinas, karmoshkas etc.

The accordion was probably the most influential musical instrument in Estonian traditional music during the middle of the 19th century as it was both innovative and differentiated from other instruments used so far. First accordion was built in Germany 1822 and from there it started it’s rather scandalous victory-march all over Europe. (Igor Tõnurist)

Viljandi Festival’s traditions of focusing on different instruments each year is continued this summer through workshops and exhibitions dealing with different accordions and their history. Most of the best Estonian players gather to play together in concerts and spontaneous jam-sessions. Performers from other countries have also been chosen partly by the “accordion-criteria” in order to introduce as many different traditions as possible. It will be four days and nights where one can enjoy the best traditional music, atmosphere and happiest bunch of people in the world!

Estonian ETNO Camps

Traditional music study camps Estonian are inviting former and new music lovers!

The X Estonian ETNO begins on July 14 and concludes with Viljandi Folk Music Festival.

A first ETNO+ camp from July 14-20, for adult and more skilled musicians from the age 21.
More information about the camps: Eesti ETNO
ETNO+

Previous Festivals

Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2005
Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2004
Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2003
Viljandi Folk Music Festival 2002

Forum

Forum

NB! In order to trade Passes there is a Pass trading page

Stages and Festival Venues

See also town map.

Technical Details About Realvideo Transmissions

Transmissions are performed by MTÜ Audiovisuaalne Meedia ASBL with the help of Matti Bürootehnika and Viljandi Culture Academy. This year, too, we are planning to have simultaneous transmissions of several concerts.

In order to see the transmission your computer must have at minimum Realplayer One. It is, however, advisable to instal the freeware version of Realplayer 10. Information on adjusting the program can be found at http://nadal.viljandi.ee/?html=nvtv (in Estonian, with screenshot instructions).

Contakt: Andreas Müürsepp andu@bumpclub.ee and Jaanus Toomsalu sys@folk.ee

Attention!

Team

Ando KivibergChiefando@folk.ee+372 52 40 069
Liina HärmAssistant Managerliina@folk.ee+372 51 87 580
Tarmo NoormaaProgram Managernoormaa@folk.ee+372 50 87 759
Ülle JantsonEducational Programylle@folk.ee+372 51 63 133
Tarmo TähepõldForeign Affairstarmo@folk.ee+372 51 58 883
Kaija-Liisa TarandETNO Campskaija-liisa@folk.ee+372 56 352 152
Hillar SeinTechnical Managerhillar@folk.ee+372 52 10 299
Epp AlataluThe Barn Project (Aita Aita)epp@folk.ee+372 51 21 721
Tiit JürmannSales Managertiit@folk.ee+372 50 63 760
Kristiina AlliksaarAccommodation & Cateringkristiina@folk.ee+372 52 21 825
Mare LilienthalTicket Sales Managermare@folk.ee+372 52 80 739
Kersti RattusDesignerkersti@kultuur.edu.ee+372 52 835 369
Mare HuntExhibitionshundu@kultuur.edu.ee+372 51 583 87
Ene SillamaaHandicraft Yardene@folk.ee+372 53 432 884
Triinu PriksPersonnel Managertriinu@folk.ee+372 53 902 273
Marit RaukWaste Managementmarit@folk.ee+372 50 49 814
Pille KirsimäeAccountantamanda@folk.ee+372 51 06 754
Aari JuhansonTranslationsaari@folk.ee+372 56 900 800
Allan KändmaaCodemanallan@folk.ee+372 53 985 666
Tauno UiboWebpage, ITtauno@folk.ee+372 51 11 049
Urmas VolmerPrinted Matter, Photosurmas@folk.ee+372 50 63 362
Erki PriskSecurity Administrationerki@folk.ee+372 51 66 306
Andreas MüüriseppRealVideo Transmissionsandu@videoteam.ee+372 50 12 118
Kristel PeikelPress Assistantkristel@folk.ee+372 51 56 329